Hours & Admission

Please note that the hours for the visitor center and the hours for the Gothic House are different. Most days the Gothic House interior is not open to the public. See below for more details.

AGHC.JPG

Center Hours

Sunday-Monday: 1pm-4pm

Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-5pm

(Closed for county holidays; see below.)

We strongly recommend arriving at least 15-30 minutes before we close if you plan on using our costumes or exploring the center. For the full experience of our center (including watching the documentary), we recommend arriving at least an hour before closing.


The center is closed for county-observed holidays.

Upcoming closures for 2019:

  • Labor Day (Monday, September 2)

  • Veterans Day (Monday, November 11)

  • Thanksgiving Holiday (Thurs and Fri, November 28 and 29)

  • Winter Holiday (Tues and Wed, December 24 and 25)

  • New Year’s Eve (Tues, December 31)

Closures for 2020 (subject to change):

  • New Year’s Day (Wed, January 1)

  • Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Mon, January 20)

  • Presidents’ Day (Mon, February 17)

  • Memorial Day (Mon, May 25)

  • Independence Day (Sat, July 4)

  • Labor Day (Mon, September 4)

  • Veterans Day (Wed, November 11)

  • Thanksgiving Holiday (Thurs and Fri, November 26 and 27)

  • Winter Holiday (Thurs and Fri, December 24 and 25)

  • New Year’s Eve (Thurs, December 31)

This page is our most up-to-date posting of holiday closures, but if you’d like to confirm holiday hours, please call or email us.

Cost

Admission to the center is free, donations are accepted.


DSC05462.JPG

House Hours

The American Gothic House is open for tours on the second Saturday of the month from April to October from 10am to 4pm.

Open days for the rest of 2019:

  • August 10

  • September 14

  • October 12

Admission to the Gothic House, on the days that it’s open, is also free. No tickets or reservations are required.

Please note: Visitors to the house will only be allowed to tour the ground floor, as the stairs to the second floor are steep, winding, and have no handrail. In addition, the House is not easily accessible for individuals with mobility issues, as there is a slight hill leading up to the house, 2 steps to get onto the porch, and one step to get inside the house.